Food · long beach · Los Angeles Dining · vegan

Zephyr’s Vegetarian Cafe

Last weekend, me and some friends got together to for some belated birthday fun to celebrate our girl L’s birthday.  At the last-minute we planned out our girls day that included food and water sports. One of my friends is Vegan so we let her pick our lunch spot. She took us to Zephyr’s Vegetarian Cafe in Downtown Long Beach.  I’m not Vegan, but every now and then I do tend to eat at vegan restaurants myself. Two of my faves are Native Food and STEAMED organic eatery. Besides.. you can’t be a true foodie and not appreciate different types of cuisine.

Zephyr’s is a really cute, quaint restaurant… Very boho which I loved.

photo 1photo 2

I saw the table with a checkerboard on it and immediately sat us there.. I thought it was cute that we could have lunch and play a game at the same time.

photo 3

I accidentally deleted my drink but in the checkerboard photo in the left hand corner, is a picture of the Mandarin Orange Soda that I got. It was delicious. Very refreshing. One of my friends ordered the Ginger Soda and to my surprise it was very good.

We started off with some Vietnamese Spring Rolls that came with this delicious bon bon sauce. There are three options that you can get: 1) raw: collared greens leaf wrapper 2) almost raw: rice wrapper 3) not raw: grilled tofu $1 extra. We went with option 2 and it was yummy. These rolls are filled with bean sprouts, romaine, baby greens, shredded carrots, cucumber, and cilantro. Very filling to the tummy.

photo 4

I was in a sandwich mood so I ordered the Herb Chickenless-O-Burger with a side of carrots and celery. What sold me on this sandwich is that sprouts came on it. For me, nothing makes a sandwich tasty than some sprouts. This sandwich can be filling especially after eating some Vietnamense Spring Rolls. I added some of the bon bon sauce onto it which made it even better. They should use bon bon sauce on this sandwich rather than the vegan mayo.

photo 1photo 4

While I went with the sandwich option, my friends decided to get some bowls.

This was Zephyr’s special of the day: A berry salad bowl.. Filled with strawberries, blueberries with a raspberry vingerette dressing

photo 3

The Teriyaki Vegetable & Tofu Bowl: Pineapples, mushrooms, grilled seasonal vegetables, bell pepper, onions, black beans and rice served with teriyaki sauce

photo 2

Nothing is better than a day with good food, good fun, and good people. I will be returning here.

Zephyr’s doesn’t have  website but you can check out their menu here:

http://dineries.com/ca/longbeach/zephyrvegetariancafe/340e4thst

*All opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

