Fine Dining · Food · Italian · long beach · Uncategorized

EastSide Marios

* I know picture quality kinda sucks.. New phone in Feb 2014*

I’m a huge brunch fan. I think I can say that I am sort of brunch snob. I’ve heard about the brunch at East Side Mario’s from a few people and this past weekend, I had the opportunity to check it out for myself.

photo 3 photo 1 photo 2 photo 4

Eastside Marios is an Italian Eatery in Lakewood, CA. When you go there for regular lunch or dinner, you receive this delicious plate of complimentary garlic bread. I’ve eaten here twice but never for brunch. So lets talk about that. Brunch is $14 for adults and $8 for kids. Mimosas are $5 extra. If you choose to have mimosas please note that only the champagne is refillable. The Orange or Cranberry juice to make your mimosas are not. This is the main reason I decided against ordering the mimosas. My juice should be refillable along with my champagne and the cup of juice they give you is very small. The brunch snob in me found this to be unacceptable.

Okay onto the food. There was much to sample during brunch. Not only Italian food but Mexican flare as well.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 4 photo 3 photo 2

The salad bar selections was the best part of the brunch to me. So many ways you can design the perfect salad to your liking.

photo

My first plate ( I forgot to snap a photo) was a salad, a slice of Margherita pizza, potatoes, and pineapple. The salad was great, the pizza was good, the potatoes were fantastic and the pineapple was sweet. Okay first plate done.. On to the next..

Plate 2:

Outside on the patio there was the Omelette and Pasta stations. I decided to just get pasta.

photo 3 photo 4

I ordered bowtie pasta and it was just okay. Something was missing. I didn’t eat all of it.. Just picked at it. disregard the guacamole..I grabbed that to go with the next item I had on my mind

photo 1

Plate 3:

I had a bean and cheese enchilada with guacamole, watermelon, and ham. That enchilada was the best thing there!!! It was super yum and I was mad I didn’t get it earlier. Paired it with the guac and I was content. The ham was tasty also. I don’t eat ham often so when it’s around I do enjoy it. I prefer ham smeared with pineapples though.

photo 2

Plate 4:

Dessert. I am a huge dessert person. When I saw the small selections I was hyped because I spied churros. Also, there was a fondue fountain for chocolate covered strawberries and bananas.

photo 3 photo 2 photo 3

So lets now talk about my dessert disappointment. I call myself making this dessert plate of churrros, strawberries, chocolate covered bananas with whip cream. I just knew this was gonna be good. The churros were horrible!!! They were hard, dry and crispy. I was upset. Now I don’t waste food so I made it work out for me. I just mixed the churros with whip cream and paired them with the strawberries. That made it bearable. But still.. that was horrible. I’m sure I’m not the only one disgusted by the churros.

photo 5

Overall, I would say that EastSide Marios is a good place to enjoy a fab Italian dinner ( the lasagna is great) but don’t go there for brunch. Check them out http://www.eastsidemarioslakewood.com/

*BRUNCH TIP OF THE DAY*

I know your probably saying to yourself ” her portions on her plate are so skimpy. Usually, when you go to a buffet, filling your plate to the brim is what normally happens. It’s best to put portions on your plate so you can sample everything and get your money’s worth. Also, save your beverage for last. Liquid tends to fill up the extra space in your tummy you would’ve used for a taste of cheesecake that caught your eye. Just my two cents 🙂

*all opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

