Food · mexican food · Uncategorized

Viva La Mexican Food

I’ve said this many of times but Mexican food is like a religion in Southern California. Majority of us take it very very seriously. Come out here saying tacos aren’t that great and prepare to hear our mouths!! Its so serious that my friend who relocated to Atlanta 4 years ago posted her excitement about finding a legit taco shop out there in the Smyra area. Finally, she can feel at home in Georgia lol. Nothing is really more satifying than biting into a crispy, crunchy taco after a long day. Southern California has areas known for their Mexican food but to me, no place in California has better Mexican food than San Diego. It makes sense why the mexican food is better down that way than up here in L.A. County. Califorina used to be Mexico Territory and San Diego is the birthplace of the first settlement in California. If you go to Old Town in San Diego, you will learn about early California culture and eat some delicious food. I highly recommend The Alamo. The closest to San Diego style Mexican food we have up here is Albertos. I love that place. But of course tacos aren’t the only Mexican specialty. There are many different forms of Mexican food but today I will focus on a few of my personal favorites.

Tacos

Seriously, how can you not like them. Yes they are simple: shell, meat, and fixings of your choice. In this picture are two carne asada tacos and a margarita. I prefer my tacos on crispy, crunchy shell but I’m fine with soft shell as well. You can never go wrong with a taco/margarita combo.

photo 1

Rolled Tacos aka Taquitos

Two different names, same thing. Deep fried shells in a circular shape filled with meat, topped with guacamole and sour cream. If your in the L.A. County, San Bernandino County and some of Orange County, you’ll find them on the menu as Taquitos. If your in San Diego, they are Rolled Tacos.

photo 2

Wet Bean and Cheese Burrito

Burritos are best made wet. Wet meaning slathered in Red or Green Sauce. I prefer Red.

photo

California Burrito

Whats the difference between a California burrito and a regular burrito. Its really simple: French Fries!! A California Burrito is filled with french fries, guacamole, meat and cheese… simple delish and very filling. If I don’t share this burrito with someone, it takes me about two days to eat it.

photo 1

Carne Asada Fries

Carne Asada Fries are pretty much a California Burrito without the shell. Thats the easiest way to describe. Still just as good and still just as filling. They are best shared if you don’t like to over stuff yourself.

photo 4

Chicken Tortilla Soup

One of my faves. I love a good Chicken Tortilla Soup on rainy days. One of my favorite places to get this soup is from Toast in West L.A. on 3rd street. The picture below is some homemade meatless Tortilla Soup…

photo

Nachos

Something tortilla chips slathered with meat, guacamole, sour cream, red sauce and whatever else, is all you need sometimes. Nachos make a great snack and sometimes a great dinner choice.

photo

Guacamole

A lot of times I seriously go to Mexican restaurants and will order a guacamole and a margarita and call it dinner. I love guacamole. i made my best batch the other day for lunch.

photo 2

Refried Beans

I love to use this as an alternative to dip my tortilla chips into rather than using salsa

photo 3

My co-worker told me she would make me some Lengua so I can try it. I trust her. She always cooks and brings me food that she made. She’s from Tijuana and a part time chef. I haven’t tasted anything that wasn’t delicious made by her. I never cared to try lengua. Thats tongue for those who don’t know Spanish. So if she makes it for me, I’ll be sure to keep you informed.

Whats your favorite type of Mexican food?

*All opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

