Food · gluten free · salad · Uncategorized · vegan

Paleo 30

As I mentioned before I’ve been sick with bad allergies since November and Im just now starting to feel some type of relief. I’ve pretty much been bedridden and just eating what I can. I’ve gained about 6lbs during my down time so now that Im feeling a little bit better, its time to drop some pounds. I’m still a little too weak to start working out which sucks because before I got sick, I was doing 5k’s after work everyday. Now I have to re-train myself *groans*.   I decided to start on my weight management plan with changing my eatings habits.  I’ve mentioned before that I have a gluten allergen so after some research, the Paleolithic Diet seems to be perfect for me.

photo 1

What is the Paleo Diet? The Paleo Diet is nuts, fruit, vegetables and protein ( meat, eggs, fish) with a combination of exercise. Its also called the Caveman Diet. The Paleo motto is: If a caveman couldn’t eat it, neither can you. So no grains, diary or sugar.

grubbin-1

Cavemen were hunter and gathers so if it can’t be hunted (meat, fish) or gathered ( seeds, nuts, veggies, fruit) then its not meant to go into your body. Sounds boring I know but you’d be surprised how easy this diet is. After doing more research, I found so many Paleo based blogs with delicious recipes. The key to doing Paleo successfully in my opinion is 1) Discipline and 2) A Food Processor. A Food Processor will become your best friend during your time with Paleo. On February 1, I officially started the Whole30 nutrition challenge that is based around Paleo. I’m on day 7 as of today and I have already lost 3lbs since starting. I’ve noticed that my energy levels have increased which is great because I was seriously lethargic.

Day 1-Dinner: Grilled Pork Chops, Sauteed Carrots and a plain Salad with vinaigrette dressingphoto 2

Now I have a serious sweet tooth especially around that TIME (ladies know what I mean). Well, luckily there is a such thing as Paleo sweets and I will be making these time to time for those days I crave pies, cakes or cookies. Just the other night I made some Paleo blueberry banana muffins for kicks.

Day 4-Dessert: Paleo Blueberry Banana Muffins

photo 3

Eggs do play a vital part of the Paleo diet and I will admit that on Day 6, I was officially tired of eggs. So I went and bought some coconut flour so I can make some waffles and pancakes just to switch it up every now and then. I know your like wait? Didn’t you say this this diet involved no grains? Well Coconut Flour and Almond Flour is a healthy alternative to grains. Of course if you have a nut allergy you would omit nuts and of course the almond flour from this diet. I will say that what they charge for Coconut flour should result in a bigger bag but I digress. I will complain but buy it because I care about my dang ole health *grumbles*.

Not only am I changing my diet, Im also changing the way I live my life. I don’t live a crazy life but I tend to stress out a lot. So I also added yoga, meditation and avoiding negativity into my diet. Trying to channel my inner boho which lives in me. She’s been wanting to come out for years now.  23 days left of Paleo to go. I will be posting some of my Paleo meals during this journey. Wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

