BBQ · Brunch · dessert · Fall · Fine Dining · Food · Las Vegas · long beach · Los Angeles Dining · Orange County dining · Southern

Georgias Soul Food Kitchen

I’ve been hearing about the Anahiem Packing House for a year now and put it on my to try list. One of my college buddies was in town, so I saw this as an excuse to finally try this place out. As I browsed the list of restaurants in the building, I was surprised to see that there was a soul food restaurant there. I googled to find out more about the restaurant and was also to pleased to know that it is a Black owned business. I’m not that much of a soul food fan but I want to support my people especially out here in Orange County where there is rarely any black owned businesses. So I made plans to meet up at Georgias to try it out and so we could show our support. 

Georgias is a St. Louis soul food restaurant that comes from the heart and soul of Gretchen Shoemaker. These recipes were handed down to her by her grandmother and passed down to her children. Now she’s sharing her family recipes with Orange County and I am happy to see her here. I may not be that much of a soul food fan but I do enjoy food items like catfish, red beans and rice, collard greens, jamabalya and macaroni and cheese. I’m happy I have a place I can stop by on my way home after work when I’m in the mood for these items.


I walked into the Packing House and immediately became a fan of the environment. It’s so chill and relaxed. A place where you can enjoy different types of good food, have a drink with friends (or alone) and enjoy live music. I saw a few places in there that I will be going back to try especially the Pho eateries.


Georgias is located on the back portion inside the Anaheim Packing House on the 2nd floor. It’s a small venue but there’s also patio style seating and the menu is amazing. 



I like how you order first then your seated. Definetley makes me want to come back with a group knowing there won’t be no end of meal bill snafus. We were given complimentary biscuits (not pictured) while we waited for our food. I ordered the Fried Catfish dinner with red beans and rice and collard greens and my friend ordered the BBQ chicken sandwich plate. We were both satisfied with our food. 


And the dessert is a must try.  We got a slice of Lemon and Pound Cake and they were both very moist and fluffy. I forgot to take photos but trust me.. save room for dessert. 

So if your looking for something to do on Friday night, head down to the Anaheim Packing House and enjoy a delicious meal from Georgias. Already planning to go back so I can try their Jamabalya and St. Louis BBQ ribs.
*all opinions are my own *

One thought on “Georgias Soul Food Kitchen

  1. I love this place. I tried this for the first time a few months ago and like you I loved the atmosphere. It’s great to enjoy with your friends and Georgias was amazing. I ha dude fried chicken my sister the smothered pork chop. Love love love it.

Leave a Reply

