Alcohol · breakfast · Brunch · Fall · Fine Dining · Food · Food blog · happy hour · Las Vegas · long beach · Los Angeles Dining · mexican food · Orange County dining · Social event · Southern · vegan

Ragin Cajun Cafe 

For the first time, I got to experience DineLA. Usually I miss out because I’m to lazy to drive to LA to take part but this time I was able to visit one of the restaurants on the list not to far from me. 

I browsed the restaurants in the SouthBay and Long Beach area and came across Ragin Cajun Cafe. I viewed the lunch and dinner menu online and felt that the price went great with my current budget. Not only was the DineLA price great it’s only about 20 minutes away from me in Redondo Beach. All streets and no freeeays. If you live in Southern California, you know that anytime you don’t have to use the freeway is a good thing. 

I’ve been meaning to catch up with one of my best friends and felt this would be a great opportunity for both of us to catch up and eat good food. 

Ragin Cajun Cafe is a family owned restaurant in Redondo Beach, CA. The family is originally from Layfette, LA. and the food is based on their family recipes. My friend and I decided to go there for lunch to take advantage of their DineLA lunch menu. 

When you walk is inside, there’s Louisiana memorabilia everywhere. You can also grab some beads from the front counter if your feeling festive. I’m sure this place is fun during Mardi Gra Season.





The interior also gave me a southern dive vibe. I kinda felt like I walked into the set of True Blood and all that was missing was Layfette and Sooki lol. All the drinks was even given to you in a mason jar.


What caught my eye on the menu was the Gumbo. I didn’t grow up eating gumbo. Actually the first time I had gumbo was at age 25 and it wasn’t traditional gumbo. I can’t eat crab so the fact that their gumbo is sausage chicken based works for me. The food item on the menu that really caught my eye was the Gumbolaya. Gumbolaya is their chicken sausage gumbo mixed with jamabalaya. 


So we both ordered from the DineLA lunch menu. We both got the Gumbolaya but I got a side of Fried Pickles and she got a Fried Shrimp Po Boy. Our meal also came with complimentary bread that we used to dip into our Gumbolaya. 



We left there stuffed with to go boxes but the food was so good.  I’m definitely going to visit them again sometime this year. The Gumbolaya was a little spicy but not to bad. I can’t wait to go back to try out their Red Beans and Rice and Bacon and Cheddar Cornbread. 

Ragin Cajun Cafe is located at 525 S. Pacific Coast Hwy,  Redondo Beach, CA. 90277

*all opinions are my own* 

Leave a Reply

