Asian · Brunch · dessert · Fall · Fine Dining · Food · Food blog · Food truck · Italian · Las Vegas · long beach · Los Angeles Dining · Orange County dining · Social event · Southern · Uncategorized

Howling Rays Nashville Hot Chicken 

Recently I had a food experience I’d never had before. Now I’ve waited for an hour or 2 for a table at a major restaurant but NEVER have I had this experience at a fast food establishment. And that was just for the place to open. Howling Rays Nashville Hot Chicken is one of the hottest most try places in Downtown Los Angeles. If you don’t want to wait an hour or two or maybe three just for a taste, you need to get there at least an 1 1/2 before it opens so you can get your food in less than 20 minutes. Located in Chinatown, its located in a little alley filled with food boutiques and kiosk’s off of Broadway and Oregon. At first glance, you will miss it but look for the marquee on the side of the building.

 

Howling Rays is open Tuesdays- Saturdays from 11am-4pm and closed Sundays and Mondays.  I got to Howling Rays at 10:20am thinking it opens at 12pm. Even though I was technically “late” getting in line, the line wasn’t actually that long. It was wrapped around a little bit but I was standing across from the door which was a good thing. I literally got there just in time because before you know it, the line started to get super long really fast. I had somewhere to be at 1pm and I was hoping that I would get my food in time.

 


 Even though I wasn’t far from the opening door, it still took me 45 minutes just to get to the register to order my food. I will admit, I was a tad bit antsy with a mixed of anxiety by the time I got to the door. I kept saying to myself, your really waiting over an hour for a fried chicken sandwich. I rarely eat fried chicken but I am a true foodie and I wanted to earn more foodie points by braving the infamous Howling Ray line. Well I earned my stripes!! I will admit, after walking through the doors to order, a sense of calm came over me. When you walk in there’s good music, the staff is smiling and full of comedy. I believe that they know they have to set a happy mood for when all the hangry people finally enter through their doors. Watching the staff prepare the food is like a mini minstrel show. Their food preparation is full of antics, chants, and laughter. They interact with the customers, give out fist bumps and high fives and they get animated when they realized their being filmed on Snapchat. It was entertaining watching them as I waited for my food and it did make the wait go by quickly. 



When I finally got my food to go, I walked away from the area to do my usual food photoshoot. When I opened up my to go box, I just said wow. When I think chicken sandwich that wasn’t what I would’ve imagined. The sandwich is huge!! Now I’ve encountered, what I thought, was the biggest chicken sandwich ever at Disneyland but this one definitely beats it. After my photo shoot, I hurried back to the car so I could eat and drive. I couldn’t wait to try this sandwich I’ve heard and read so much about. First, I had to cut it in half. There’s no way I was going to be able to eat all of that. I took my first bite, savored, second bite, savored.. and I was conflicted. The sandwich is delicious! And I loved their French Fries and paring it with a side of Come Back sauce makes the fries even better.Its very good but I still haven’t decided if it was worth my long wait.


 I do want to go back to try their chicken and waffles that everyone seemed to be ordering that day but I will get up super early again and wait. I know that will result in me once again waiting an hour just so the place can open up. So I guess I answered my own conflicted question. If I’m thinking about going back and waking up early just for some chicken and waffles, then Howling Rays is worth it.

 

Howling Rays is located at 727 N. Broadway Los Angeles, CA. 90012

Parking: You can pay $5 for a lot or use the pay meters located on the streets. I paid the $5 for parking so I wouldn’t have to worry about a meter.

 

 

*All opinions are my own*

 

 

Leave a Reply

